Global Health Ideas

Finding global health solutions through innovation and technology

Gates Foundation billions change pharma landscape

I have about dozen blog posts that I am behind on due to traveling. My traveling will ease up in a couple weeks and hope to catch up then. There was an optimistic news release today about the impact of philanthropy on drug discovery for global health. Back in February at the NextBillion.net IPEG DC meeting I tried my best to stress that while there are many changes in global health, one of the most significant changes is the technological capacity in emerging economies and specifically that the ecosystem for R&D is growing rapidly. I personally believe there will be some trickle down effect from this growth and while I don’t quite agree entirely with the assessment below, it is worth noting. What is also worth noting on the pessimistic side is that the growth of the elite and middle classes in places like China and India may lead to more severe patent battles. Hopefully I can give more details later, in the meantime check out this story:

“April 17, 2007 – The billions of dollars thrown at global health problems by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation are changing the game in drug discovery, posing big challenges to the world’s top drugmakers, according to a report on Tuesday. Pharmaceutical information group IMS Health Inc. said the emergence of megabuck philanthropy was both a threat and a collaboration opportunity for manufacturers.” Full news story.

Written by Aman

April 17, 2007 at 9:01 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bill Gates is really inspiring with his giving. It would be great to see some of the other billionares of the world follow suite.

    jeffwend

    April 29, 2007 at 10:14 pm

  2. Yeah, it is a bit tough. I can only find this version which was posted 6 months ago:http://www.imshealth.com/ims/portal/front/articleC/0,2777,6599_18731_78159585,00.html

    We may have to write to them to get the 2006 version or the one cited in this news article. I would like to read it myself as well. I will drop them an email over the weekend.

    Aman

    April 18, 2007 at 4:53 am

  3. Is the full IMS report available online anywhere? I can’t seem to find it to save my life…

    Jessica Pickett

    April 17, 2007 at 11:06 pm


Comments are closed.

