Global Health Ideas

Finding global health solutions through innovation and technology

Jay Z, MTV and UN Join Forces for New Clean Water Campaign

The scope of people engaing today in the global health battle is unprecedented. In this case, pop figures have the potential to have a huge impact on awareness and involvment in global health. Again while this is not a direct innovation or technology I felt it noteworthy enough to include here because Jay Z is focused on solutions to the water crisis. Some of you might not agree with Shawn Carter’s (Jay Z) politics or lyrics, but this will be interesting. Something like this provides free education, free marketing and hopefully increases action. I read about this a couple of months ago, but the MTV piece – The Diary of Jay-Z: Water for Life – will air next month – SPREAD THE WORD!!

“Jay Z will be appearing in a new documentary where the multi-platinum rapper witnesses first hand the impact of the global water crisis.”

A great website by MTV on the water crisis.

“More than one billion people lack access to safe drinking water, according to statistics, and water related diseases are the leading cause of death – constituting 80% of the world’s sicknesses.

“In the beginning when I was going out on a world tour I was going out to play music in places that I haven’t played. I said to myself ‘I can’t go to these places that I haven’t been and not go out and see the people.’ The people that have been touched by my music for over ten years and the culture, what’s going on in these areas,” Jay told the press. “From that morphed, ‘well I’m not just gon’ go and do rap songs. I wanna touch, and maybe help, and see what I can do in these areas.’ As I start looking around me, looking at things in ways that I can become helpful, starting at the first thing, water. Something as simple as water.”

“I’m very pleased to announce today, a groundbreaking collaboration between the United Nations, MTV, [and] Jay-Z to raise awareness about the world’s water crisis,” Annan offered. “Jay-Z with his enormous influence will inspire young people everywhere to care and join in the search for solutions for our water crisis.” From SOHH

Written by thd

October 21, 2006 at 10:13 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] AIDG also has highligted the involvement of yet another celebrity in the global health arena. As we posted previously Jay Z had an MTV special called Water for Life. Check out AIDG and the video links they have. When I first saw this news I was really excited as I thought it would be an opportunity to spread the word about this issue, however after trying to watch the 30 minute special on TVs in three different households at three different times I was unable to access the show. MTV was showing this special on one of their other channels and not the main channel AND the TV times were extremely poor (one of the three *total* showings I could find was at 7am). So much for spreading the word. I suppose I was naive in thinking millions would be watching MTV when this came on.  2) Simple Test Could Make World’s Water Supplies Safer: Dr. Buttery at VCU has post on a new test for detecting arsenic, you can read that blog for more details. The folks at Brown’s Global Health Blog have also posted a story about water – Clean Water is Right (Economist Story). 3) Stories of Hope From Africa & the African Brand: Time Magazine and their blog has another piece on success on the ground. I have not had a chance to fully read their main piece but I encourage you to check it out. It is nice to see them highlighting hope instead of the usual barrage of despair. Related to this, from Pienso, is a piece on Africa’s brand that is well worth passing along to your friends. A tiny snippet: “The need for Africa to communicate, differentiate and symbolize itself to all the global audience of consumers and investors cannot be overstated… Ultimately, the hope of Africa and its global family lies in investing in a new identity of a functioning Africa than a selective approach where islands of hope are created in the midst of an ocean of hopelessness and misery.” 4) Harnessing University Research to Improve Global Health: UAEM The Center for Global Development health policy blog discusses the coverage this topic is recieving in some high level journals such as Nature and BMJ. […]


Comments are closed.

